How to Make Sushi at Home

ENGLISH | TÜRKÇE

I live for culinary challenges. When I’m trying out a new recipe, it doesn’t matter if it’s a notoriously difficult one (like macarons) or a very foreign one (like this case, sushi). Since I loved Japanese culture and was already starting to miss getting sushi for lunch at Harrison, I figured I should try and make my own sushi.

There were 3 main obstacles in my way:

  1. Finding the ingredients.
  2. Preparing the rice.
  3. Rolling and slicing the sushi.

P2098911.jpg

After very thorough research, I found a chinese shop called Chinese Market in Gumussuyu that had nearly everything I needed in my little sushi expedition. At a 5-minute walking distance from Taksim metro stop, Chinese Market was also much cheaper than other stores. I got rice vinegar, a bamboo mat, nori sheets, soy sauce and chopsticks. Then, on my way home I stopped by the supermarket to get an avocado, some cucumbers, smoked salmon and rice. Since this was my first time making sushi, I didn’t want to waste quality rice – so I just used the usual Osmancik rice. First obstacle from the list, checked off!

img_8348

Now, it was time to make the rice. Since I didn’t have a rice cooker, I had to be careful not to burn the bottom of the pot. The rice needs to be fluffy and definitely not undercooked. I followed the recipe below and got very good results.

Ingredients (for 6 rolls):

  • 2 cups of rice
  • 2 1/4 cups of water
  • 1/3 cups of rice vinegar
  • 1 1/4 tablespoons of sugar
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons of salt

Preparation:

  1. Wash the rice until the water runs clear.
  2. Cook the on high heat, stir until it boils then lower the heat and put the lid on.
  3. After 8-9 minutes check if there’s any water left. If the rice grains are bigger and all the water is gone, your rice is cooked.
  4. Scoop out the rice using a wooden spoon (trust me). Don’t scrape off the dry rice burnt at the bottom.
  5. Put the sugar, salt and vinegar in a small pot and put it on heat until the solids dissolve. Then, mix this into the rice.
  6. Make sure you fan the rice so that all the steam goes away. When your rice is at room temperature, it’s ready.

Point 2, check!

FullSizeRender.jpg

This is the fairly easier part, slice all the vegetables and salmon julienne. Then put the rice on the nori sheets, making sure you leave the top part free. Then, put the ingredients like in the picture above and roll! You probably won’t be able to roll it in one single move to try to d0 it in 2-3 parts. Watch this video to better see how to do it. 

img_8346

You’ll have 6 rolls like this and you can slice them into 8 pieces. First, slice it into two from the middle, then do the same thing for every piece until you’ve got 8 pieces. Third obstacle, also check!

There you go! This recipe basically makes enough for a sushi party. So invite your friends over for a sushi party!

img_8350

One Reply to “How to Make Sushi at Home”

Leave a Reply

